By now you’ve probably heard that Michelle Wie was disqualified from the State Farm Classic. She violated rule 6-6b of the USGA Rules of Golf at the end of her round Friday by not signing her scorecard before leaving the scoring area just off the 18th green. This violation came to the attention of the LPGA after Wie teed off to start Round Three so no action was taken until after she finished play Saturday. The press release by the LPGA can be found here. ESPN reports that Wie was signing autographs outside the tent when tournament volunteers brought the card to her for signing. Why an LPGA official was not in the tent to witness this chain of events and DQ her Friday afternoon is a mystery to me.
I think we finally have the answer to that question we’ve been asking recently: How can a professional golfer get DQ’d for not signing her scorecard? Remember Brittany Lincicome at the Ginn Tribute? Maybe she stepped outside the scoring area to use the restroom or talk to a friend or whatever, and rule 6-6b was invoked there. It took Michelle Wie violating this rule for a proper press release to finally explain it where a layperson could understand how this could happen.
Any further comment that I could make about this situation would insinuate that I know what Michelle Wie was thinking, or what her camp has or has not done to prepare her towards completing a professional round of golf. I will say this – this golden opportunity for Wie to fulfill all that potential that so many have been waiting for is now gone. We will all have to wait a little longer.